March 16, 2013 – One Year

“Men go abroad to wonder at the heights of mountains, at the huge waves of the sea, at the long courses of the rivers, at the vast compass of the ocean, at the circular motions of the stars, and they pass by themselves without wonder.” – Saint Augustine

March 16, 2013.  One year. One year since my Mother left this world and began spending eternity with her Heavenly Father.   It seems we measure everything in our lives by time or seasons so arriving at this date on the calendar feels like an important day in the life of our family.  It will be a day of reflection.  It will be a day we recall how very special Judy King was.  It will be a day we spend time together as a family.It will be a day of worship. March 16, 2012 will be a day we look back on and realize how much God has taught us through this journey.

Today I am humbled and honored to speak at a Women’s Conference for a life long friend’s church. The theme for the conference….MASTERPIECE.  This time last year, I definitely did not feel like much of a masterpiece.  This time last year, I wondered what God was doing with us, to be honest.  I asked God a lot of questions over this past year, and the one thing I failed to realize was the SOVEREIGNTY of God.  I do not have any more answers today than I had a year ago.  However, today I am able to realize God is sovereign, and there are some things only He knows that I would never be able to comprehend in the first place.

Masterpiece.  If anyone did a good job helping me feel like a masterpiece, it was my Mother.  She had such a tender way of helping me with my physical attributes as well as my social experiences.  But if there is one thing I have tried to realize while studying for this conference, it is that we are God’s masterpiece, no matter what we look like or feel like.  He wants to mold us and shape us into something wonderful, but even during the seasons where we are nothing but dried up bones (Ezekiel 37), He still looks at us with loving eyes and longs to breathe new life into us.

If I were my Mother, I would tell myself. . . .  I often think about the title of this blog.  What would she want me to know right now?  After spending a year in heaven, I am sure her advice would have nothing to do with how to clean my house or how to create more space in the pantry.  I am quite certain her advice today would be centered much around taking care of the inside, taking care of my heart, my relationship with God, realizing the masterpiece we all are and then taking care of it.

I remember what I wore on March 16, 2012.  Every time I walked in to see Mother, she would always tell me how pretty I looked.  She always saw the best in me, even when I felt there was no good at all.  I was able to spend a few hours with her the morning of the 16th last year.  She told me to go on to school when Daddy got there.  I think she was waiting for me to leave.  It was quiet and peaceful and exactly like she wanted it.  To hear Daddy tell his experience is precious.  He was watching her one minute, the doorbell rang, he went to the door to receive some flowers being delivered, and when he returned to Mother, in those few quick seconds, she had quietly passed away.

She did everything in a private, quiet way.  She even left this world in a beautiful way, and I am so proud to say I am her daughter.  She is now a perfect masterpiece.  No more cancer.  No more medicine.  No more swelling or body sores.  No more tears.  No more pain.  I miss her so much, it physically hurts, but I am so thankful she does not have to endure the pain she endured this time last year.

I will never stop remembering the things she taught me.  There is a lifetime of memories we will always have, and I look forward to recalling them throughout another year.  What a difference a year can make. . .

“He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” – Revelation 21:4

6 thoughts on “March 16, 2013 – One Year

  1. Absolutely beautiful Amy .. The words just flow from you . God has used you in mighty way. .. And yes you are beautiful as your mother has said. She is looking down and smiling today !! God is going to use you to reach many more women.. Better get ready 🙂

  2. Amy, with every word you write I fill Judy is talking to us at the store. She loved her family and life. She was such a beautifull person, we all were blessed to know her.

  3. Amy, I remember the first time I really ” heard” Revelations 21:4. Pastor John Adams was reading the verse just minutes after my Mama passed away. He was reading out of my grandfather’s bible, the bible she had requested to be buried with he (and of course is). I assume I had heard the verse before, but it never really meant anything to me. Now, I love that verse and it has gotten me through many hard times. As it did in the sweet moments after her passing. I feel blessed to have been there when she passed on to Heaven. I compare it to the miracle of birth, it is just as big of a miracle. I truly felt her instant peace! And I believe, just like your mom, she had the control of when it was time to go. Your mom needed quiet and peace. My mom needed daddy and I to be right there. It has been a year and half for us, and it is amazing what a difference time makes. Never, ever forgetting, but able to go on. So honored to be my mother’s daughter! Your words are always a joy to read!

    • Typo – the Bible is with her, not he. She is probably fussing at me for not proofreading before hitting post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

