Guard Your Heart.

“Above all else, GUARD YOUR HEART, for it is the wellspring of life.”  – Proverbs 4:23

There is no denying the fact that Will Byrd is my son. His mannerisms, social ways, and especially tender heart, are all examples of our similarities. It did not take Mother very long to realize how tender hearted Will was going to be. From a very early age, Mother would say, “Will is going to be very tender hearted, just like you, Amy”

This is probably the age we all figured out Will was our tender hearted child.

This is probably the age we all figured out Will was our tender hearted child.

Will stood in our kitchen last night, extremely tearful, discussing what he thought was a very private situation with a little girl in his class.  No matter how gentle we tried to be in our discussions or question asking process, he was uncomfortable and quite emotional about the conversation.  The topic was not serious and almost funny, but Will was devastated we would discuss something that meant so much to HIM.  If Gigi would have been there, I know she would have said something like “protect his little heart, Amy”.

I went to bed thinking about Will’s heart.  My heart.  Darian’s heart.  Charlotte’s heart.  Daddy’s heart.  My friends’ hearts.  They are all so different yet all very similar.  So many times we ask each other advice about certain life situations.  There are times I just don’t have the answers, but after watching Will last night, I know we all have the answer.  It comes from Proverbs 4:23.  King Soloman says: Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.

Guard your heart.  Protect your heart.  ABOVE ALL ELSE.  It is the wellspring of life.   It determines your happiness.  It determines your choices.  Your source of life flows from it.  We all must guard our hearts, no matter how tender they are.  It just became so obvious to me last night when watching our tender hearted son weep in our kitchen.

As a new year begins, there are so many resolutions being made about health, jobs, weight loss, quiet times, personal growth, etc.  What I have realized, is what my Mother told me a long time ago.  We must guard our hearts above everything else.  The world can be a tough place when children are young and have so many questions about what is right and wrong.  I want my children to always know how to guard their hearts.  Broken bones can be fixed.  Unguarded hearts lead to many heartaches that cannot be fixed as easily.

I am thankful for a Mother and a Daddy who taught me how to guard my heart growing up.  I pray every day that I will not only guard my own heart but that I will show my Will and Charlotte how to protect theirs as well.

This is exactly something Mother would give to Will. They loved Charlie Brown together.

This is exactly something Mother would give to Will. They loved Charlie Brown together so much.

Leave a Reply

