There is a crack in everything.

There is a crack in everything.  That’s how the light gets in.” – Leonard Cohen

I have heard many songs through the years about lighting candles, especially at Christmas time.  I have to admit, I never truly understood the significance of lighting a candle until last Saturday.  Don’t get me wrong, one of Mother’s decorating rules centered around lamps and candles.  She believed lamplight and candlelight were daily necceseties because they make everything more beautiful; more special.   When you walked in my Mother’s house, there were always lamps on (24 hours a day) and a candle burning.  I love that feeling of candles and lamps in my own house.  Maybe it is because I feel like she is with me in that sense.

Daddy and I were invited to a candlelight service at the funeral home where mother is buried. We were asked to light the candle of hope during the service.  Every grave had a beautiful luminary each family was invited to light, then all families attended the service together.  As I watched the 4 families before us light a candle for grief, courage, memory, and love, I realized lighting candles is a very significant part in this process of losing someone.  While it is very symbolic, it is also a tangible reminder of the darkness of our loss being shattered by light.  It is a symbol of how this light can lead us and guide us on our way; a new way we don’t always know how to navigate.

So as my sweet Daddy lit the candle of hope, we were again reminded we do have a hope that we will see my beautiful Mother again.  We have a hope that times here on earth will become a little easier.  We have hope in a God who guides us through this very difficult life, and we certainly hope He will draw us closer to him in those times we still grieve the most.

As we enter into this hectic Christmas season, I pray we are reminded of the hope we all have in a savior.  Every time we see a candle burning, may we always think of the light that shines in our lives to shatter the darkest moments we must face.  There are usually candles burning at our house, but today, there is a new meaning behind those flames.  Today and every day, we will light a candle and let it be a source of remembrance of how light shatters darkness. “There is a crack in EVERYTHING.  That is how the light gets it.”  I am severely “cracked”. I guess we all are.  I am just so very thankful for the many ways light has been shown to me as a way to help me navigate this difficult journey.

Christmas_2010_030

Perfect example of our candlelight which now holds a very new meaning. Christmas 2010

 Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.
(Romans 5:3-5 ESV)

 

Leave a Reply

