How do we define love?

“The last 6 months was what the entire 40 years was all about.” – Robert King

During this week of Thanksgiving, my Daddy and I were able to take some time and reflect on the past year.  The conversations were sometimes painful, yet somehow they were consoling as we replayed the events of this past year.  We continue to ask each other the tough questions, and I am so proud to say that even though the questions are tough, our faith remains strong.

When you teach middle school, you often hear questions like “how do I know I love somebody?” or “why do breakups hurt so bad?”  I am usually at a loss for an answer because it is so very difficult to reduce love to a simple answer. A wise and wonderful friend said to me this week that love can’t be put in a box. There are so many facets to it.  Love certainly does not fit in a box, but if it did, I know it would look like what I witnessed over the past year. I know it would look like this beautiful picture of my Grandparents.

63 years of marriage. Definitely a picture of what love looks like.

Queen Elizabeth II said (after the World Trade Center attacks in 2001) “grief is the price we pay for love.”  I think those words perfectly describe our current feelings. The more you love, the harder it hurts when you lose it.  Every tear, every sleepless night, every sob is a testament of the presence of love in our lives. The grief is like our trophy.  It is a reminder of how much love we have been given. The pain is still great, but the gratitude we have for the love we shared is much greater.  There is much to be thankful for, and realizing what true love looks and feels like is definitely one of them.

Leave a Reply

