Homesick

“In Christ, there are no goodbyes. In Christ, there is no end.  I’ll hold onto Jesus with all that I have, to see you again.”  –  MercyMe, “Homesick” lyric

Being homesick has to be one of the worst feelings a child can feel growing up.  I remember being so excited about going over to a friend’s house when I was younger, but as soon as the sun went down, I panicked.  I don’t know what caused this anxiety, but I do remember on at least 2 occasions, my parents had to pick me up from a friend’s house in the middle of the night.  Of course I grew out of these extreme feelings and enjoyed many slumber parties, trips away from home, and of course, even the journey to college.  However, I will NEVER forget that homesick feeling that grabs you in the very pit of your stomach and makes you feel like you are never going to see your family again.

One of my dear friends introduced me to a song called “Homesick” several years ago.  I remember she told me how it made her think of her Father who had passed away a few years before the song came out.  I never really grasped the lyrics of the song until recently.  That same friend was there to walk with us at Race for the Cure today.  At some point during the walk, the song, as well as her story behind it, came to mind.  It explains my feelings today in such a perfect way.

Today, I am homesick, but on a completely different level than when I was young.  It still hurts. It aches, and I am currently in “Call my Mother, I am desperate to see her.” mode.  I am confident of the fact that I will see her again. Today, I am just homesick for her.   Today, my heart is with my Mother.  Every day, my heart is with my Mother.  The song says it all.. . .     http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvhrPMJe8LE – (For my precious Donna)

3 thoughts on “Homesick

  1. Amy, w hat a beautiful song. You are in my thoughts every day.You are so much like your Mother, beautiful on the outside as well as on the inside. You’re in my thoughts & prayers. Lynne

  2. Hey Amy, I love reading your posts. Judy was already on my mind today, but when I was leaving from work on my lunch break, our accountant was here and as I went by him I ask him how everything was going. He said fine, but I really need to ask Judy some questions about some things for community development. I looked at him puzzled and said don’t you mean Brittany? He said “no I mean Judy, but I guess I won’t be getting any answers to my questions.” I told him if he did to please give me the “number” he reached her on………
    We all miss her dearly and are thinking of you and your family.

Leave a Reply

