Be Still

“A strong woman knows she has strength enough for the journey, but a woman of strength knows… it is in the journey where she will become strong.” – Unknown

If you are familiar with the ending of a school year, you know it can be overwhelming.  There are numerous loose ends to tie up.   Email inboxes are overflowing with unread/unanswered questions.  Grades are due.  Orders for next year are due.  Anxieties from students are high.  Anxieties from teachers are high.  Anxieties from the Principal (in our house) are high.  Everyone wants their answer taken care of FIRST.  Rules?  Manners?  Those have all been conveniently forgotten.

Needless to say, it’s a little hectic around here.  When Mother would call on weeks like this, she would know (without me saying a word) how stressful everything was. Her reply to my anxious tone…. ” I’ll help you.  Just calm down.” 

Another one of Mother’s favorite passages of scripture was Psalm 46:10 – Be still and know that I am God.  Mom’s interpretation of this “being still” part usually involved shopping.  She said it removed us away from the stress. This still makes me laugh.

Grief is an unpredictable thing.  I never realized what a calming force my Mother was during this time of year until now.  She would have the beach trip planned and knew talking about it would help our stress.  She would sneak in my house and do the laundry.  I would pretend to be mad at her but secretly be so happy. She would be at Will’s awards ceremony to applaud his accomplishments. And the list goes on and on and on. She would have done everything in her power to not only help us make it through but help us make it special.

So what now?  She’s not here.  And many times this week, I found myself saying how much I just needed her. There have been times of sheer panic and pain because I couldn’t just pick up the phone and call her.

And in these moments of stress, sadness, and heartache, her wisdom still speaks so clearly to me….. Be still and know.  And today, my interpretaion of that just might include a little shopping. Just for her. 

4 thoughts on “Be Still

  1. like being 13, the end of the school year doesn’t really last forever…. but it certainly feels like it.

  2. Amy, You have inspired me so much. Our mothers were so much alike. I think that is one of the many reasons she had such a special place in my heart. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your special memories with us. I pray that God will continue to be with you and your family. Jill Moody

  3. Amy,

    There were so many times at work that I would head into your Mom’s office just to hear her say, “Jennifer, it’s going to be fine.” This of course was followed by, “I’ll help you. Tell me what I can do.” Sometimes she would leave me in her office and close the door because she knew exactly what I needed…to be still. And then other times, she would say, “Let’s head over to Something Special”. Your mom was the best at knowing just what was needed. I miss her every day. Please know I’m praying for you and I love you all.

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

