Art Imitates Life

“Out of the mountain of despair, a stone of hope.” – Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

While on a field trip to Washington DC with 8th graders, I was privileged to see many monuments and museums.  The new MLK monument  is an enormous piece of art depicting a mountain that has the middle taken out of it. This middle of the mountain, or “the stone of hope” has a quote from Dr. King’s famous “I have a dream speech” inscribed on it. . .

I have felt my share of despair throughout this school year.  I will also admit, there are some days when despair still tries to creep in.  I stood there and wondered when my “stone of hope” would be completed and ready for me to stand back and admire.   Although Dr. King spoke these words out of circumstances that are very different to mine, I still couldn’t help but be moved by the hope these words and this piece of art gave me.

One thought on “Art Imitates Life

  1. I think most of us have a hole that has been cut through us by some tragic happening whether it was from a loss of a loved one or maybe words that just cut you up and you can’t seem to get over. i wonder if these holes ever mend completely or if we just try not to feel them any more . Love you and your sweet family .

Leave a Reply

