A New Beginning

I can’t do it. I can’t stop writing about my Mother.  I think of her every minute of every day.  Her battle with cancer was a journey (to say the very least) so I started a caringbridge site to keep everyone informed of her progress.  It became therapeutic for me, and in some way, I feel like she lives on if I continue writing about her.   There are so many life lessons I learned from her and am continuing to learn from her, even through her death.  I want her legacy to live on.  I want my children to know her.  I don’t ever want to forget one thing about her.  So, to honor who she was and what she stood for, I am going to continue to write about her. No more cancer updates.  No more research on chemotherapy. Just the good stuff I want to remember.

My goal is for each blog entry to be something Mother would want me to remember. I thought the title “If I were my Mother, I’d tell myself” would be quite fitting.  Again, I feel as if she lives on through me. I want to recall her faith, ideas, stories, gift giving traits, house cleaning tips, ways she decorated….everything.  I want my children to have memories that are important to me.  So, here is my first attempt of trying to get memories all in one place.  I look forward to starting this new blog that is about the good stuff.  The caringbridge site is now a closed chapter in our lives, but we will always treasure it for being a part of our family story that taught us so much. I am not thankful for that chapter in our lives yet.  Maybe one day I will be.  I don’t think we will ever understand the pain and suffering the world brings.  But, I am confident of this. . .  “After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever.” 1 Thessalonians 4:17. 

 

6 thoughts on “A New Beginning

  1. Amy, what a great idea. Your blog will be something you, and especially Will and Charlotte can treasure as they get older.

  2. That is a great idea,I would love to know more about sweet Judy as a person and as a mother ,wife and grandmother. I love you and your sweet family,write the love sweetheart,write the funny and real person she was .

  3. Can’t wait for each and every entry in this blog. You are so gifted as a writer/communicator. What a treasure for you, your family and your dad. Love you all!

Leave a Reply

